OK, so today there’s a bonus cover, and it comes via one of my favorite music blogs, Aquarium Drunkard.  I’ve never been a huge fan of Strand of Oaks, but I appreciate an artist with an open mind.  Here’s what Timothy Showalter (aka Strand of Oaks) had to say about the band Phish:

I might be the newest Phish fan in the world. I was never exposed to them until this summer. My manager asked me to go to both nights Phish played at Wrigley. Of course! So in anticipation of the show I started listening to a lot of their music and quickly fell in love. Those two nights at Wrigley were some of the most genuinely fun times I’ve had in a long time. Just getting to spend time with my manager Ryan, not in any work capacity, us just having fun. And if anyone ever has doubts about Phish, please just go to a concert. Being basically hugged by 30,000 people is hard to combat against. I needed those fans and needed those four wonderful musicians that night. I chose “Dirt” simply because it basically has the same chord structure of an Oaks song (which is good because I don’t know that many). It’s also just a beautiful melody

It’s always nice to see enthusiastic new ‘phans’ discover the magic of a Phish concert.

Head over to Aquarium Drunkard to hear (and download) Showalter’s cover of “Dirt” along with two other tributes to 90’s British rock groups Primal Scream and The Stone Roses:

Strand of Oaks’ Lagniappe Sessions, via Aquarium Drunkard

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

